rebound Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://allie.fastrunningblog.com/ Tue, 19 Jun 2018 02:54:44 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Mon, Jun 18, 2018 http://allie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-18-2018.html <p>green lake</p> Mon, 18 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Sun, Jun 17, 2018 http://allie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-17-2018.html <p>green lake</p> Sun, 17 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Jun 16, 2018 http://allie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-16-2018.html <p>green lake to UW loop with james</p> Sat, 16 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Jun 15, 2018 http://allie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-15-2018.html i saw a woman running while juggling bowling pins and a raven did a divebomb into my hair Fri, 15 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Jun 14, 2018 http://allie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-14-2018.html Thu, 14 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Jun 12, 2018 http://allie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-12-2018.html UW to green lake Tue, 12 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Jun 11, 2018 http://allie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-11-2018.html Mon, 11 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Sun, Jun 10, 2018 http://allie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-10-2018.html <p>ran&nbsp;along the seattle RnR course to the finish line to see james. missed him at the mile 4.5 mark (overslept) and missed him at the finish (ran too slowly to get there in time). i wandered around the finish area for 15-20 minutes, and with no luck i headed back home, figuring i would see him along the way (i did not).&nbsp;if you want a champion wife it&#39;s not me! even though i missed the whole thing, james ran a great race today.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Sun, 10 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Jun 09, 2018 http://allie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-09-2018.html <p>green lake with the crowds</p> <p>i predict lebron goes to the spurs</p> Sat, 09 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Jun 08, 2018 http://allie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-08-2018.html catching back up with life and trying to get my training organized again Fri, 08 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Jun 07, 2018 http://allie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-07-2018.html Thu, 07 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Jun 06, 2018 http://allie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-06-2018.html Wed, 06 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Jun 05, 2018 http://allie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-05-2018.html Tue, 05 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Jun 04, 2018 http://allie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-04-2018.html murdock canal trail Mon, 04 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Sun, Jun 03, 2018 http://allie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-03-2018.html alta-tude run up the summer road with andrea, jake, and rob Sun, 03 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Jun 02, 2018 http://allie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-02-2018.html pre-wedding hike up to hidden peak Sat, 02 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Jun 01, 2018 http://allie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-01-2018.html early green lake, happy june cavs in 6 SEA --> SLC ! pm - ~6 miles on the LCC quarry trail with andrea and jake Fri, 01 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Thu, May 31, 2018 http://allie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-31-2018.html unplanned off, whoops Thu, 31 May 2018 06:00:00 Wed, May 30, 2018 http://allie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-30-2018.html UW loop Wed, 30 May 2018 06:00:00 Tue, May 29, 2018 http://allie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-29-2018.html pm - 8 miles around green lake Tue, 29 May 2018 06:00:00 Mon, May 28, 2018 http://allie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-28-2018.html off. walked around discovery park with the moores Mon, 28 May 2018 06:00:00 Sun, May 27, 2018 http://allie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-27-2018.html <p>green lake is too crowded on&nbsp;sundays, but somehow i still ended up there. one loop.</p> Sun, 27 May 2018 06:00:00 Sat, May 26, 2018 http://allie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-26-2018.html <p>two seconds slower than my time last month on the same course (and that was before i started doing workouts). so things are going well.</p> <p>i feel out of sorts -- the bouncy-smoothness i had a few weeks ago is now gone, so i&nbsp;need to make some adjustments.</p> Sat, 26 May 2018 06:00:00 Fri, May 25, 2018 http://allie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-25-2018.html reverse UW loop Fri, 25 May 2018 06:00:00 Thu, May 24, 2018 http://allie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-24-2018.html <p>UW loop</p> Thu, 24 May 2018 06:00:00 Wed, May 23, 2018 http://allie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-23-2018.html <p>one loop around green lake in the afternoon.&nbsp;</p> <p>i got up at 4am for work today, just like the old days. still waiting to land that&nbsp;career lady job.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 23 May 2018 06:00:00 Tue, May 22, 2018 http://allie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-22-2018.html <p>9 easy -- cat hospital loop</p> <p>no workout today -- i started out with a 200m semi-dash and then bailed. i&#39;m still feeling tight and a bit unrecovered from sunday, and i&#39;m planning to race again on saturday, so i think it&#39;s a good week to cool it.</p> <p>the fatigue is starting to accumulate, and the getting-back-into-shape honeymoon period seems to have come to an end. i expected this was coming, and&nbsp;now i have to work through the fatigue intelligently, be patient, then keep building with a&nbsp;long-term perspective.</p> <p>the best tool i have to use at this point&nbsp;is experience. i know how to mess things up&nbsp;more than i know how to do things right, but the fact that i <em>know</em> that i know how to mess things up means i can hopefully avoid a lot of the pitfalls that have swallowed me up in the past.</p> <p>such as:</p> <p>it&#39;s important to eat and sleep, you shouldn&#39;t run on a stress fracture, running fast in training is important, running slow in training is important, my nose requires sunscreen&nbsp;</p> Tue, 22 May 2018 06:00:00 Mon, May 21, 2018 http://allie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-21-2018.html <p>green lake loops as usual</p> Mon, 21 May 2018 06:00:00 Sun, May 20, 2018 http://allie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-20-2018.html <p>the idea behind this race is that you have to beat the draw bridge at mile 2 which gets raised at the 20 minute mark. if you don&#39;t get there in time, you have to stop and wait for it to come back down, but there&#39;s a band there to serenade you while you wait. dsch dsch dsch.</p> <p>i felt pretty tired today, but it&#39;s good for me to get back into racing&nbsp;as i work on rebuilding.&nbsp;</p> <p>one of the aid stations was doing the wave with a line of volunteers and it was so amazing that i got a short two second burst of speed. i also had an awkward run-in with the one wheelchair participant at the one hairpin turn on the course. he was like <em>hey-oh</em> and i was like <em>oh-hey</em> and we did a bit of a dance and then we were on our way and i ran the rest of the race with cringe-embarrassed face.</p> Sun, 20 May 2018 06:00:00 Sat, May 19, 2018 http://allie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-19-2018.html <p>green lake loop with james</p> Sat, 19 May 2018 06:00:00 Fri, May 18, 2018 http://allie.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-18-2018.html <p>no run -- righ achilles was acting up after i sprinted to the bus last night wearing ugly work shoes. i&#39;ve actually never had any sort of issue with my achilles until now.&nbsp;it was making me nervous as i know it&#39;s something that can&nbsp;turn into a long-term bugger or sideline. no time for that.&nbsp;i think it was just really tight from the various activities i&#39;ve been doing at my comically physical job wearing less than ideal footwear.&nbsp;</p> <p>felt better with rest, lots of rolling, and legs-on-the-wall stretching.</p> Fri, 18 May 2018 06:00:00